EFCSA Forum – A successful evening with David Unsworth and Joe Royle

Why do both Merseyside clubs fail in their quest to develop local goalkeepers? Why can’t modern day fullbacks block crosses? These were just a couple of the questions asked at last night’s forum.

An enjoyable evening was held in the Peoples Lounge at Goodison Park where an audience of approximately 50 shareholders and their guests were entertained by the quick wit and wisdom of the inimitable Joe Royle, and future manager in the making, David Unsworth. The event was hosted by Darren Griffiths in his usual affable style.


Topics covered were varied, and numerous, with an emphasis on the development of youth. A collection was made on the night for the “Fans Supporting Foodbanks” and EFCSA Committee member Dave Kelly is shown with the donations.


Feedback following the event has been very positive and we hope to bring you news of our next Forum in the near future.

Roberto Martinez Presents the Young Player of the Year Award

The Ena Jones Trophy was today presented to Tyias Browning as the Shareholders’ Association Outstanding Young Player of the Year at a ceremony held after training at Finch Farm by manager Roberto Martinez.

Roberto Martinez Presents the Ena Jones Trophy to Tyias Browning

Roberto Martinez Presents the Ena Jones Trophy to Tyias Browning

The award was created in memory of Ena Jones who was a Life President and Honorary Secretary of the Association between 1968 and 1996. Tyias was selected by David Moyes and joins an illustrious list of former winners who were each selected personally at the time by the team manager.

The first winner of the award in 1996 was Michael Branch who enjoyed an encouraging start to his Everton career before losing his way and becoming something of a journeyman. He was followed in 1997 by Michael Ball who played more than 100 games for the blues in a 5-year career after his debut as a 17 year old and before he was sold to Rangers for £6.5m in 2001.

Francis Jeffers won the award in 1999 and famously linked up well with Kevin Campbell and scored at a rate of better than 1 in 3 before being transferred to Arsenal in an £8m deal in 2001. The award in 2000 went to Peter Clarke whose appearances were limited and spent a fair amount of time out on loan before transferring to Blackpool in 2004.

Nick Chadwick was a prolific scorer at youth level and was recognised with this award in 2001. He made limited impression at first team level and was transferred to Plymouth Argyle in 2005 for £250,000. In his first season he scored the Argyle’s fastest ever league goal in 11 seconds. In 2002 the outstanding young player was Sean O’Hanlon who became the first and so far only award winner not to make a first team appearance. He transferred to Swindon in 2004 and became team captain in 2005.

Remember the name … Wayne Rooney was the winner of the award in 2004 (there wasn’t a winner in 2003) and he made a massive impression on the club from his first team debut as a 16 year old in 2002. He was for a time our youngest goal scorer and the most expensive player of his age (18) when he transferred to Man Utd for a fee in excess of £25m. The oldest winner of the award, Tony Hibbert, was the outstanding young player of 2005 at the age of 24. Tony has gone on to attain legendary status amongst the fans and with more than 250 league appearances under his belt remains a valuable member of the first team squad.

Victor Anichebe won the first of his two awards in 2006 (the second came in 2008) and has been somewhat of an enigma with regards to fulfilling the potential he showed when he made his reserve team debut was as a 15 year-old and later scored his first premier league goal as an 18 year-old in 2006. An Olympic Silver Medallist with Nigeria Victor finished last season strongly and is a valuable member of the first team squad. Sandwiched between his two awards was the 2007 winner James Vaughan. He became Everton’s and the Premier League’s youngest goals corer at 16 in 2005. His career was blighted by injury and despite scoring the penalty shootout against Man Utd in 2009 he transferred to Norwich City in 2011.

Jack Rodwell became the second double winner when he won the award in both 2009 and 2010. In a 5-year first team career he only made 85 league appearances and seemed to frequently get injured at the wrong time. Despite this he transferred to Man City for up to £15m in 2012 where his injury problems seem to be continuing. Acquired from Sligo Rovers in 2009 for a pittance Seamus Coleman spent part of the 2009-2010 season on loan to promotion winning Blackpool before making his Everton debut in 2010-2011 as right sided midfield player. His blistering pace and developing defensive skills have established him as the current first choice right back.

Frenchman Magaye Gueye joined in a £1m deal from Strasbourg in 2010 and after a sticky start enjoyed some fine performances in the 2012 cup run. He subsequently lost his way a little and spent last season on loan at Brest and played for Senegal in the 2012 Olympics. He’s back at the club now under new manager Roberto Martinez and has two years remaining on his contract.

Finally, our Outstanding Young Player of 2012-2013 is Tyias Browning. Selected by David Moyes as one of his final acts before leaving the club Liverpool born Tyias is noted for his pace and strength at right back and as a 19 year-old has already been capped by England at both U17 and U19 level.